Friday, August 28, 2009

Second Series of Inspector Lewis Mysteries Begins This Weekend on PBS

Masterpiece Mystery!

This weekend, Masterpiece Mystery! (PBS) presents the second series of Inspector Lewis mysteries. Kevin Whately and Laurence Fox return as Detective Inspector Lewis and Detective Sergeant Hathaway in seven all-new episodes. As the relationship between the two develops, new sides to the inimitable duo emerge. Memories of his wife's sudden death continue to haunt Lewis while Hathaway's understanding with the Inspector deepens with every case.

This Sunday, August 30th (9 PM ET/PT; check your local listings for the exact time in your area), "And the Moonbeams Kiss the Sea" airs. A body is in the library, but not just any library. A man is dead in the basement of Oxford's Bodleian Library, the first murder there in 500 years. The maintenance worker had a curious interest in old books and a more contemporary proclivity for gambling. Lewis and Hathaway's investigation takes them into the secrets and contrasts of Oxford life — the closed world of gambling support groups and the rarified arena of arts and literature. But when the murders start to stack up like books in the Bodleian and the surreal link seems to be the poet Shelley, Lewis and Hathaway scramble to get an education and catch a killer.

New episodes air each of the following Sundays through October 18th (except September 27th).

Inspector Lewis is a spin-off from the long-running Inspector Morse mystery series, based on the characters created by Colin Dexter. Set in Oxford, it takes place chronologically five years after the death of Inspector Morse.

The first series of Inspector Lewis mysteries is available on DVD from Mysteries on TV.

Return to ...


Post a Comment

Omnimystery Blog Archive

Total Pageviews (last 30 days)

Omnimystery News
Original Content Copyright © 2020 — Omnimystery, a Family of Mystery Websites — All Rights Reserved
Guest Post Content (if present) Copyright © 2020 — Contributing Author — All Rights Reserved