Friday, February 28, 2014

Winners of the 2014 Bram Stoker Lifetime Achievement Awards Announced

Horror Writers Association

The Horror Writers Association has announced the recipients of the 2014 Bram Stoker Lifetime Achievement Awards: R. L. Stine and Stephen Jones. The award is given in recognition of the recipient's overall body of work.

HWA President Rocky Wood said, "This is the second year in three we have recognized an Editor with the Lifetime Achievement Award — editing is a crucial skill in our genre, where anthologies regularly showcase the best of horror writing. Stephen Jones, in his capacity as editor of both the annual Best New Horror series and as editor of dozens of stand-alone anthologies and author of nonfiction titles, has had a profound impact on the genre and we are pleased to recognize him with our genre's highest award."

"For millions of young readers," Wood added, "R. L. Stine IS horror. His books have shared the fun and thrill of being scared with children, teenagers, and adults worldwide for the past twenty-five years. Whether his readers went on to become lifelong fans of the genre or eventually moved on to books with fewer evil living ventriloquist dummies, the influence of Mr. Stine is vast and undeniable. His efforts to thrill generations are greatly appreciated by the Horror Writers Association, and it is with respect that we present him with the Lifetime Achievement Award."

The Lifetime Achievement Awards will be presented on May 10th, 2014 as part of the Bram Stoker Awards Banquet at the World Horror Convention 2014 in Portland, Oregon.


Post a Comment

Omnimystery Blog Archive

Total Pageviews (last 30 days)

Omnimystery News
Original Content Copyright © 2022 — Omnimystery, a Family of Mystery Websites — All Rights Reserved
Guest Post Content (if present) Copyright © 2022 — Contributing Author — All Rights Reserved