Friday, August 24, 2012

Nominees for the 2012 Crime Thriller Awards Announced

Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards

Earlier today we posted the short lists for the Fall 2012 CWA Dagger Awards, the winners of which will be announced this coming October.

But there are actually going to be many more winners announced on that same evening, those of the Crime Thriller Awards.

For crime fiction fans — and if you're reading this, you're probably one of those — there is the Bestseller Dagger, where readers choose the winner. The nominees are …

• Jo Nesbø
• Anthony Horowitz
• Kathy Reichs
• Stuart MacBride
• Ann Cleeves

Vote for your favorite author here.

And then there is the fan vote for the best "Detective Duo of the Year". These are from television series, but most have been adapted from, or based on characters from, crime novels.

Above Suspicion (DCI James Langton and DI Anna Travis)
Lewis (DI Robbie Lewis and DS James Hathaway)
Scott & Bailey (DCs Janet Scott and Rachel Bailey)
Vera (DCI Vera Stanhope and DS Joe Ashworth)
Whitechapel (DI Joseph Chandler and DS Ray Miles)
DCI Banks (DCI Alan Banks and DS Annie Cabbot)

Voting on these duos won't open until Friday, September 7th, but here is the link to visit.

The other Dagger Awards to be handed out during the festivities are …

Film Dagger …
The Guard
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
The Dark Knight Rises
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

TV Dagger (and this would be British TV) …
Appropriate Adult
Line of Duty

International TV Dagger …
The Killing (Denmark)
Boardwalk Empire (US)
Homeland (US)
Dexter (US)
The Bridge (Sweden/Denmark)

Best Actress Dagger …
• Sofie Gråbøl (for The Killing, Denmark)
• Claire Daines (for Homeland)
• Brenda Blethyn (for Vera)
• Sofia Helin (for The Bridge)
• Maxine Peake (for Silk)

Best Actor Dagger …
• Dominic West (for Appropriate Adult)
• Damien Lewis (for Homeland)
• Steve Buscemi (for Boardwalk Empire)
• Benedict Cumberbatch (for Sherlock)
• Kenneth Branagh (for Wallander)

Best Supporting Actress …
• Sarah Smart (for Wallander)
• Una Stubbs (for Sherlock)
• Frances Barber (for Silk)
• Kelly MacDonald (for Boardwalk Empire)
• Archie Panjabi (for The Good Wife)

Best Supporting Actor …
• Alan Cumming (for The Good Wife)
• Phil Davis (for Silk and Whitechapel)
• Laurence Fox (for Lewis)
• Martin Freeman (for Sherlock)
• Alun Armstrong (for Garrow's Law)

All the winners will be announced Thursday, October 18th with the televised ceremony airing on October 23rd.


Post a Comment

Omnimystery Blog Archive

Total Pageviews (last 30 days)

Omnimystery News
Original Content Copyright © 2020 — Omnimystery, a Family of Mystery Websites — All Rights Reserved
Guest Post Content (if present) Copyright © 2020 — Contributing Author — All Rights Reserved