Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Diana Gabaldon's Outlander Novels to be Adapted for Television

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Twenty-one years ago Diana Gabaldon's debut novel was published. Titled Outlander, it was the first of seven books in this popular series of historical romance/adventure novels.

Today we're learning (via Deadline) that the series is being adapted for television by Ron Moore for Sony Pictures.

We probably would have given this story a pass except we recognized the author's name in some sort of mystery context … she's also the author of the "Lord John Grey" mysteries. The character plays a minor role in the "Outlander" books, but in 2008 Gabaldon gave him his own series, starting with Lord John and the Private Matter, in which he must investigate the brutal murder of a comrade-in-arms.

But back to Outlander, which opens in 1945. Claire Randall is traveling with her husband when she touches a boulder in one of the ancient stone circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is hurled back in time to a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of our Lord 1743. Catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life, she soon realizes that an alliance with James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, might be the only way to survive.

The series is currently being shopped to the various cable networks.


Post a Comment

Omnimystery Blog Archive

Total Pageviews (last 30 days)

Omnimystery News
Original Content Copyright © 2022 — Omnimystery, a Family of Mystery Websites — All Rights Reserved
Guest Post Content (if present) Copyright © 2022 — Contributing Author — All Rights Reserved