Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Hallmark Channel Developing Drama based on Debbie Macombers Cedar Cove Novels

16 Lighthouse Road by Debbie Macomber, a Cedar Cove Novel

Hallmark Channel is developing its first scripted drama based on the novels in the "Cedar Cove" series by Debbie Macomber.

The first of the 12 books in the series is 16 Lighthouse Road. (There is also a novella, a Christmas short story, and a cookbook.) Macomber has said that the fictitious town is based on her very own hometown of Port Orchard, Washington, located on the Kitsap Peninsula.

The books — and, to be sure, we'd be hard pressed to categorize them collectively as suspense novels, though there are some elements of mystery in some of the plotlines — are all written from the perspective of a different character. The pilot for the potential television series, however, will star Andie MacDowell, who will presumably play a recurring character in the series (if it gets that far).

Production starts next month from a script written by Bruce Graham.

For those who may be interested in Cedar Cove and its books, Macomber has created a website featuring all there is to see and do in the seaside town.

(Related article: The Hollywood Reporter.)


Post a Comment

Omnimystery Blog Archive

Total Pageviews (last 30 days)

Omnimystery News
Original Content Copyright © 2020 — Omnimystery, a Family of Mystery Websites — All Rights Reserved
Guest Post Content (if present) Copyright © 2020 — Contributing Author — All Rights Reserved