Monday, January 30, 2012

Telemystery: Diagnosis Murder and Poirot, New This Week on DVD

Telemystery, the most complete selection of detective, amateur sleuth, private investigator, and suspense television mystery series now available or coming soon to DVD

Telemystery, your source for one of the most comprehensive listings of crime drama, amateur sleuth, private investigator, mystery and suspense television series, mini-series and made-for-television movies, now available on or coming soon to DVD or Blu-ray disc, is profiling one series season and a reissue of episodes from a popular British series.

— ◊ —

Diagnosis Murder: The Television Movie Collection, a Telemystery Crime Series

Dick Van Dyke stars as Dr. Mark Sloan in Diagnosis Murder, a crime drama that often included a lot of humor that aired on CBS for eight seasons. The character was introduced on an episode of Jake and the Fatman during its fourth season.

The series also stars Barry Van Dyke as Sloan's son Steve, an LAPD detective, and Victoria Rowell as Dr. Amanda Bentley, who is often instrumental in helping Sloan solve his weekly murder.

Prior to the series getting a regular slot on the network's schedule, three made-for-television movies aired. And following the eighth and final season, two additional made-for-television movies were produced. These five movies comprise the Diagnosis Murder: The Television Movie Collection, which is being released this week on DVD.

— ◊ —

Poirot: Series One, a Telemystery Crime Series

He needs no introduction. David Suchet is, has been, and always will be Hercule Poirot.

He first appeared in 1989 in a series of one-hour — and the occasional two-hour — episodes adapted from Agatha Christie's novels and short stories. Released in an almost random fashion on DVD years ago, Acorn Media is now reissuing these early episodes, remastered and in the original order in which they aired on ITV.

Two series (seasons) of Poirot are being released this week.

Poirot: Series One is available on DVD and Blu-ray and consists of 10 episodes that originally aired on ITV during the Spring of 1989.

Poirot: Series Two is available on DVD and Blu-ray and consists of 9 episodes — 8 one hour plus the feature-length version of Peril at End House — that originally aired on ITV during the Spring of 1990. (Note: The Mysterious Affair at Styles also aired during ITV's second season of Poirot, but this episode is being included on Acorn's third set, scheduled for release in March 2012.)

— ◊ —

Visit the Telemystery website to discover more television mystery series currently available on and coming soon to DVD, Blu-ray disc, or video on demand.


Post a Comment

Omnimystery Blog Archive

Total Pageviews (last 30 days)

Omnimystery News
Original Content Copyright © 2022 — Omnimystery, a Family of Mystery Websites — All Rights Reserved
Guest Post Content (if present) Copyright © 2022 — Contributing Author — All Rights Reserved