Thursday, March 26, 2009

Mystery Author Louise Penny to Sponsor This Year's CWA New Blood Dagger Award

Mystery Book Awards: The Edgars, The Agathas, The Anthonys, and many more.

In other mystery award news (press release), crime novelist has agreed to sponsor the this year. Penny won the award in 2006 for her debut mystery Still Life which introduced Armand Gamache, a Chief Inspector with the Sûreté du Quebec. (MBN note: Still Life also won the , the , the , and the .)

Penny said, "It is a pleasure for [my husband] Michael and me to be able to do this for an emerging crime writer. I've been helped so much by other writers and the CWA in particular." Penny and her husband have also established a similar award with the Crime Writers of Canada.

The New Blood Dagger (also called the John Creasey Dagger) was first given out in 1973. Previous winners include bestselling mystery authors , , and .

Shortlists for the CWA Dagger awards are expected to be announced in early June with awards presented to the winners in mid-July.

Return to ...


Post a Comment

Omnimystery Blog Archive

Total Pageviews (last 30 days)

Omnimystery News
Original Content Copyright © 2020 — Omnimystery, a Family of Mystery Websites — All Rights Reserved
Guest Post Content (if present) Copyright © 2020 — Contributing Author — All Rights Reserved