Wednesday, October 20, 2010

J. K. Rowling Wins Inaugural Hans Christian Andersen Literature Prize

J. K. Rowling

J. K. Rowling has been announced as the winner of the inaugural Hans Christian Andersen Literature Prize, created to honor children's authors who write in the spirit of Andersen.

"Hans Christian Andersen is a writer I revere, because his work was of that rare order that seems to transcend authorship," the author of the Harry Potter books said, praising Andersen's "indestructible, eternal characters." (Guardian)

This new prize is separate from the Hans Christian Andersen Awards, which have been given out every other year since 1956 to a living author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children's literature.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post a Comment