Friday, May 11, 2012

Alan Bradley's Flavia de Luce Mysteries Optioned for Television Movies

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

Sam Mendes's Neal Street Productions has acquired the film and television rights to the "Flavia de Luce" mysteries by Alan Bradley. The first book in the series, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, introduced the 11-year-old amateur sleuth and won numerous literary awards including the Arthur Ellis Award, the Agatha Award, and the Macavity Award for Best First Mystery Novel.

The books are expected to be developed into a series of made-for-television films.

What surprised us a bit in the news item (via Quill & Quire) was the mention that this is — or at least, is planned to be — a 10-book series. Sure enough, in news we missed from earlier this year, Bradley extended his previous six-book deal to ten. Four have been published to date and the author lists on his website two additional titles: Speaking from Among the Bones (2013) and The Dead in their Vaulted Arches (2014).


Post a Comment


Omnimystery Blog Archive

Total Pageviews (last 30 days)

About Omnimystery News

My photo

Lance Wright owns and manages Omnimystery, a Family of Mystery Websites, which had its origin as Hidden Staircase Mystery Books in 1986. As the scope of the business expanded, first into book reviews — Mysterious Reviews — and later into information for and reviews of mystery and suspense television and film, all sites were consolidated under the Omnimystery brand in 2006.

Page/Post Author: Lance Wright
Site Publisher: Omnimystery News

Omnimystery News
Original Content Copyright © 2016 — Omnimystery, a Family of Mystery Websites — All Rights Reserved
Guest Post Content (if present) Copyright © 2016 — Contributing Author — All Rights Reserved