Thursday, November 18, 2010

Sara Paretsky Named 2011 Grand Master by Mystery Writers of America

Mystery Writers of America

In a press release this morning, the Mystery Writers of America announced that the organization had chosen Sara Paretsky as its 2011 Grand Master. MWA's Grand Master Award represents the pinnacle of achievement in mystery writing and was established to acknowledge important contributions to this genre, as well as a body of work that is both significant and of consistent high quality. Ms. Paretsky will be presented with her award at The Edgar Awards Banquet, which will be held at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City on Thursday, April 28, 2011.

Paretsky is the author of the V. I. Warshawski mysteries. The second book in the series, Deadlock, was named one of the Booksellers' 100 Favorite Mysteries of the 20th Century, with Blacklist, the 11th, winning the prestigious CWA Gold Dagger Award in 2004. Paretsky is also the recipient of the CWA Diamond Dagger for lifetime achievement.

The MWA also announced that two bookstores will receive the 2011 Raven Award: Once Upon a Crime in Minneapolis (MN) and Centuries and Sleuths in Chicago (IL).


Post a Comment


Omnimystery Blog Archive

Total Pageviews (last 30 days)

Omnimystery News
Original Content Copyright © 2020 — Omnimystery, a Family of Mystery Websites — All Rights Reserved
Guest Post Content (if present) Copyright © 2020 — Contributing Author — All Rights Reserved