Sunday, April 18, 2010

Agatha Christie BBC Murders to be Performed on National Tour

Agatha Christie

Playbill is reporting that the Agatha Christie BBC Murders will be performed on a national tour prior to its debut on Broadway in 2011. The series of "lost" radio plays premiered last year at the International Mystery Writers' Festival.

Agatha Christie wrote four radio plays between 1937 and 1954. The most famous of these, "Three Blind Mice", a locked-room style murder mystery written in 1947, was the basis for a short story of the same title and the long-running stage play Mousetrap.

The others are "Yellow Iris" (1937), which was developed into the 1945 full-length novel Sparkling Cyanide; "Butter in a Lordly Dish (1948), which many believe to be Christie's least-known work; and "Personal Call" (1954), in which Inspector Narracott from her 1931 novel The Sittaford Mystery pays a return visit.

In the Agatha Christie BBC Murders, the plays are fully staged with sets and costumes. The tour will begin in Tacoma (WA) this fall, with Zev Buffman producing. Buffman will be the recipient of the 2010 Raven Award at this year's Edgar Awards banquet, held later this month, given by the Mystery Writers of America to recognize outstanding achievement in the mystery field outside the realm of creative writing.

Return to ...

No comments:

Post a Comment