Sunday, January 10, 2010

New Editions of Non-Canonical Sherlock Holmes Novels Published by Titan Books

The original Sherlock Holmes stories, written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle between 1887 and 1927, consist of 4 full-length novels and 56 short stories. But the number of books and short stories written since then featuring the great consulting detective number far more, well into the hundreds ... probably thousands. Many of these later stories take their premise from plot threads in the originals; some pair Sherlock Holmes with real people; others move the action into a different time and place; and still more are simply fanciful interpretations (reinterpretations?) of the character.

But the best of these pastiches remain true to the character of Sherlock Holmes. Titan Books recently republished four of these titles (with two more to come out next month) as "The Further Adventures of Sherlock Holmes" in trade paperback editions with striking, attractive covers. More information about all six of these books is provided below, and if you've never read any of the Holmes stories beyond the canonical 60, these books are a terrific place to start.

The Veiled Detective by David Stuart Davies. Originally published by Robert Hale (UK) in April 2004, and 6th in this author's series of Sherlock Holmes adventures. It is 1880 and a young Sherlock Holmes arrives in London to pursue a career as a private detective. He soon attracts the attention of criminal mastermind, Professor James Moriarty, who decides that he must control this fledgling genius. What happens next is both shocking and thrilling.

The Scroll of the Dead by David Stuart Davies. Originally published by Calabash Press (UK) in September 1998, and 4th in this author's series of Sherlock Holmes adventures. Sherlock Holmes attends a séance is to unmask a fraudulent medium, but this is just the beginning of a chain of events which will pit the Great Detective against one of his most obsessive foes he has ever encountered – Sebastian Melmoth, a Wildean character hell-bent on achieving immortality through secrets contained in an Egyptian papyrus.

The Ectoplasmic Man by Daniel Stashower. Originally published by William Morrow (US) in January 1985, and 1st in this author's series of Sherlock Holmes adventures with Harry Houdini. When Harry Houdini is framed and jailed for espionage, Sherlock Holmes vows to clear his name, with the two joining forces to take on blackmailers who have targeted the Prince of Wales. It’s a case that requires all of their skills — both mental and physical. Can the daring duo solve what people are calling “The Crime of the Century”?

The War of the Worlds by Manly W. Wellman and Wade Wellman. Originally published by Warner Books (US) in September 1974, and a stand-alone book that blends detective fiction with science fiction. In 1897, the world changed forever when our planet came under attack from Martian invaders. The world's greatest detective, Sherlock Holmes, along with his friend Professor Challenger embark on one of their most dangerous adventures to date ... to discover the nature and intent of their extra-terrestrial attackers.

The Man from Hell by Barrie Roberts. Originally published by Constable (UK) in October 1997, and the 3rd in this author's novels featuring Sherlock Holmes. In 1886, wealthy philathropist Lord Backwater is found beaten to death on the grounds of his estate. Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson must unravel the mystery by pitting their wits against a ruthless new enemy, taking them across the globe in search of the killer. (New edition publishes February 23, 2010.)

The Stalwart Companions by H. Paul Jeffers. Originally published by Harper & Row (US) in January 1978. In this story, written by future President Theodore Roosevelt long before the Great Detective’s first encounter with Dr. Watson, and purportedly unearthed from the old records in the basement of the New York Police Department's headquarters, Holmes visits America to solve a most violent and despicable crime ... a crime that was to prove the most taxing of his brilliant career. (New edition publishes February 23, 2010.)

Return to ...


Post a Comment


Omnimystery Blog Archive

Total Pageviews (last 30 days)

About Omnimystery News

My photo

Lance Wright owns and manages Omnimystery, a Family of Mystery Websites, which had its origin as Hidden Staircase Mystery Books in 1986. As the scope of the business expanded, first into book reviews — Mysterious Reviews — and later into information for and reviews of mystery and suspense television and film, all sites were consolidated under the Omnimystery brand in 2006.

Page/Post Author: Lance Wright
Site Publisher: Omnimystery News

Omnimystery News
Original Content Copyright © 2016 — Omnimystery, a Family of Mystery Websites — All Rights Reserved
Guest Post Content (if present) Copyright © 2016 — Contributing Author — All Rights Reserved