Friday, June 13, 2008

Press Release: ThrillerFest 2008

Lauren Powers of Meryl L. Moss Media Relations contacted us suggesting we advise our readers of the upcoming ThrillerFest in New York City. We're thrilled (no pun intended ... OK, maybe just a little) to do so! Here is the press release of the event, reprinted here with permission.


Contact: Meryl L. Moss Media Relations, 203-226-0199
Lauren Powers, [email protected]

"It's a gathering of us, when thriller writers congregate and commune. There's simply nothing like it on the planet." Steve Berry, NYT Bestseller and ITW co-president

"ThrillerFest is unique, for readers and for writers. Nowhere else in the world brings so many authors, fans and budding novelists together, and in the heart of Manhattan, home of the US publishing industry. In a word it’s unmissable." David Hewson, International Bestseller and VP Communications ITW

All Thriller Fans, Thriller Authors, and Would-Be Thriller Writers Can High-tail it to the Grand Hyatt, July 9-12

The sidewalks of New York City will be hot…hotter than a tall, swanky dame who sends hearts and wallets fluttering with her sultry walk and mysterious smile. ThrillerFest is the most spine-tingling and exciting event of the year for fiction’s most popular genre. Bringing more than 200 of the best loved and bestselling authors to The Grand Hyatt in New York from July 9-12 for an unprecedented four-day extravaganza to mix and mingle with authors, aspiring writers, and fans.

The 3rd annual ThrillerFest is the brainchild of International Thriller Writers, Inc. (ITW). According to Steve Berry, Co-President of the organization, the gathering is an opportunity for devotees of thriller books to come together not only for professional guidance and counsel, but for the interpersonal benefits, fun, and sheer thrill of it all. “Unlike our books, this event has no twists or turns and no surprise ending…but still delivers quite a punch.”

One of the highlights of the event is the coveted ThrillerMaster Award, whose previous recipients include Clive Cussler and James Patterson. This year’s winner is Sandra Brown, who is being recognized for her legendary career, 56 New York Times best sellers and more than 70 million copies of her books in print worldwide. “For more than 30 years, Sandra Brown has actively supported the thriller genre through an outstanding body of work as well as promoting literacy,” said M. Diane Vogt, ITW Events Vice President. “We are delighted to be presenting this lifetime achievement award to her.”

Additional bestselling spotlight guests that will attend are Eric Van Lustbader, Dr. Kathy Reichs, and Brad Thor, David Baldacci, R. L. Stine, Steve Martini, Iris Johansen and Andrew Gross have also joined the lineup.

This year’s Thriller Awards Chair Vicki Hinze said, “awards will be presented for Best Novel, Best First Novel and Best Paperback Original.” (a complete list of nominees is included below).

ThrillerFest includes author signings, a complete bookstore on premises, reader’s reception and cocktail party, music by the Killer Thriller Band, giveaways of 20 thrillers months before publication and four days of events. Meet the usual suspects attending including such thriller writer as Lee Child, Gayle Lynds, Heather Graham, David Morrell, David Liss, M. J. Rose, Steve Berry, Doug Preston, Joe Finder, David Hewson, James Rollins, Michael Palmer, Katherine Neville, D. P. Lyle, Chris Reich, Maxine Paetro, Joan Johnston, F. Paul Wilson, Alison Brennan and many more.

Registration for ThrillerFest is open to everyone (ITW members and non-members), with three separately-priced events packages this year: CraftFest on Thursday, July 12; the ThrillerFest Conference from Thursday, July 12 - Sunday, July 15; and the Thriller Awards Banquet at 7:00 p.m. on Saturday, July 14. Day passes are available. Complete details and a date/rate schedule can be found at

About ThrillerFest

ThrillerFest ( was established to bestow recognition and promote the thriller genre at an innovative and superior level for and through the Active Members of ITW; to provide opportunities for mentoring, education and collegiality among thriller authors and industry professionals; and to grant awards for excellence in the thriller genre.

Thriller Award Nominees:

Best Novel, 2008

No Time for Goodbye by Linwood Barclay (Bantam)
The Watchman by Robert Crais (Simon & Schuster)
The Ghost by Robert Harris (Simon & Schuster)
The Crime Writer by Gregg Hurwitz (Viking)
Trouble by Jesse Kellerman (Putnam)

Best First Novel, 2008

Interred With Their Bones by Jennifer Lee Carrell (Dutton)
Big City, Bad Blood by Sean Chercover (William Morrow)
From the Depths by Gerry Doyle (McBook Press)
Volk’s Game by Brent Ghelfi (Henry Holt & Co.)
Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill (William Morrow)

Best Paperback Original, 2008

The Last Nightingale by Anthony Flacco (Ballantine)
A Thousand Bones by P. J. Parrish (Pocket)
The Midnight Road by Tom Piccirilli (Bantam)
The Queen of Bedlam by Robert McCammon (Pocket)
Shattered by Jay Bonansinga (Pinnacle)

(MBN note: Previous winners of the can be found on our website.)

Return to ...


Post a Comment


Omnimystery Blog Archive

Total Pageviews (last 30 days)

Omnimystery News
Original Content Copyright © 2020 — Omnimystery, a Family of Mystery Websites — All Rights Reserved
Guest Post Content (if present) Copyright © 2020 — Contributing Author — All Rights Reserved