Friday, November 14, 2008

MWA to Honor the Edgar Allan Poe Society and The Poe House with Raven Award

The Mystery Writers of America announced in a press release earlier this week that the Edgar Allan Poe Society and The Poe House in Baltimore have been been chosen as the 2009 recipients of the organization's Raven Award.

According to MWA's President Harlan Coben, the dual choice of the Edgar Allan Poe Society and The Poe House is doubly appropriate: "Not only does 2009 mark the anniversary of Edgar Allan Poe's 200th birthday, but Mystery Writers of America has long-considered Poe a patron saint. In fact, the Raven Award, itself, is named after Poe's famous poem, and our Edgar® Awards -- or 'Edgars,' as they're more popularly known -- are awarded annually to authors of distinguished work." [MBN note: See a list of past winners of the Edgars on .]

The Mystery Writers of America's 63rd Annual Edgar® Awards Banquet will be held next year at The Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City on April 30, 2009.

Return to ...


Post a Comment


Omnimystery Blog Archive

Total Pageviews (last 30 days)

About Omnimystery News

My photo

Lance Wright owns and manages Omnimystery, a Family of Mystery Websites, which had its origin as Hidden Staircase Mystery Books in 1986. As the scope of the business expanded, first into book reviews — Mysterious Reviews — and later into information for and reviews of mystery and suspense television and film, all sites were consolidated under the Omnimystery brand in 2006.

Page/Post Author: Lance Wright
Site Publisher: Omnimystery News

Omnimystery News
Original Content Copyright © 2016 — Omnimystery, a Family of Mystery Websites — All Rights Reserved
Guest Post Content (if present) Copyright © 2016 — Contributing Author — All Rights Reserved